Western Kuala Lumpur Traffic Dispersal Scheme (SPRINT)
Malaysia (1999 - 2004)

The 26.5km three-lane dual carriageway Western Kuala Lumpur Traffic Dispersal Scheme (SPRINT) is one of the most traffic efficient highways in the Klang Valley.

Designed as a network of links to relieve congestion in key populated areas, SPRINT employed various innovative design and construction methods that required minimal land use and disruption to the natural environment.

SPRINT is distinguished by its unique links – Kerinchi Link with its double-decker viaducts; Penchala Link with its 710m long twin-bore tunnel; and the Damansara Link with six interchanges at Kayu Ara, Section 17, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Kiara, Maarof and Semantan.

Today, motorists enjoy direct access to Penchala through Kiara Hills, via the Penchala Link that leads to the Moorish-influenced twin-bore Penchala Tunnel with six lanes each measuring 3.5m. The impressive twin tunnels, constructed using the “drill and blast” approach through hard rock and granite, is a key catalytic element that led to the burgeoning economic growth in the western part of Kuala Lumpur.

Constructing the Penchala Tunnel opened a new chapter in tunnelling for the Group continued to explore ways to preserve the natural terrain and habitat for the developments we undertake.

Another notable engineering feat accomplished in the construction of SPRINT was its 2.9km double-deck carriageway with two tiers of viaducts at Kerinchi Link, the first of its kind in Malaysia.


  1. The Penchala Interchange on the Penchala Link is a 5.5km, three-tier, Y-interchange connecting SPRINT and LDP with a 65m segmental bridge over the LDP and a unique 710m, Moorish-influenced twin-bore tunnel
  2. The Kiara Interchange, a multi-tier interchange that connects Kerinchi Link and Damansara Link on SPRINT, was designed as an alternative access route into the city. Environmental management was strictly adhered to during the construction as the alignment traversed through hilly terrain
  3. Kerinchi Interchange is an 11.5km, three-tier, Y-interchange connecting SPRINT to the Federal Highway Route II. Its distinctive feature is a double-deck viaduct of 2.9km with staggered toll plazas and tandem toll booth

Kerinchi Link

  1. Measures 11.5km from the Federal Highway (at Angkasapuri) to the New Klang Valley Expressway at Jalan Duta
  2. Five interchanges at Jalan Duta, Mont Kiara, Sri Hartamas, Intan and Kerinchi
  3. First in Malaysia to feature a double-deck carriageway with two-tier viaducts
  4. New north-south spine road providing faster and more convenient travel

Damansara Link

  1. Spans 9.5km from Kayu Ara–Jalan Damansara–Semantan
  2. Six interchanges at Kayu Ara, Section 17, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Kiara, Maarof and Semantan
  3. Multi-tier interchanges instead of previous signalised traffic junctions
  4. Safer, faster and more convenient travel for road users with time savings of up to 20 minutes

Penchala Link

  • Has a length of 5.5km from LDP at Bukit Lanjan–Penchala–Mont’ Kiara
  • With three interchanges at Kampung Sungai Penchala, Taman Tun Dr Ismail and Mont’ Kiara
  • First in Malaysia to feature a 710m twin tunnel, the widest in Malaysia
  • Provides a faster and direct link from Sungai Buloh–Damansara corridor to Mont’ Kiara and Jalan Duta


Client Government of Malaysia
Concessionaire Sistem Penyuraian Trafik KL Barat Sdn Bhd (SPRINT)
Turnkey Contractor Gamuda – Mujur Minat Joint Venture
Scope of Works
  • Design
  • Construction
  • Supervision
  • Commissioning
Project Facts
Length: 26km
Carriageway Width: 3.5m/lane
Number of Lanes: 6
Interchanges: 13
Bridges: 16
Viaduct: 2km long x 23m wide
Tunnel: 700m twin-bore tunnel
Vehicular Underpasses: 1
Pedestrian Bridges: 10
Toll Plazas: 3
Toll Booths: 49